Union County Law Library Resources Board Minutes December 4, 2024

Attending: Stephen Badenhop, Law Library Board Chairperson; Perry Parsons, Law Library Board Vice-Chairperson, Tina Owens-Ruff, Law Library Board Trustee; Rebecca Pokorski Law Library Board Trustee, and Michael Rucker, Law Librarian and secretary for the meeting.

Chairperson Badenhop called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm at the Offices of the Union County Commissioners.

The meeting began with a presentation presented by LexisNexis Client Manager Joe Ellerhorst. The subject of the presentation was a proposed addition of AI to the Lexis+ contract. The presentation was informative and well received by the Board Members and it was determined that further consideration of the proposal would include a future hands-on presentation to be made available to interested parties from the Library's Lexis+ user list.

Following the presentation the Board conducted some of the regular business of the Library Board beginning with the approval of the meeting minutes from the Board Meeting held on October 16, 2024. A motion to approve the minutes was made by Perry Parsons and seconded by Tina Owens-Ruff. The motion was unanimously approved.

The next item was the reappointment of Board Member Stephen Badenhop who has accepted and been duly sworn in to the position.

The Board then discussed a proposal to waive the annual reimbursement fee to the County Commissioners Office for the Law Librarian's time assisting the Records Center & Archives due to building improvements the Commissioners' Office has made to the Law Library Office area – carpeting and painting. A motion to approve was made by Rebecca Pokorski and seconded by Tina Owens-Ruff. The motion was passed with Stephen Badenhop abstaining.

The final item for discussion was the salary for the Law Librarian. A motion for a 4% salary increase was made by Perry Parsons and seconded by Rebecca Pokorski. The motion was passed with unanimous consent to be effective December 23, 2024.

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Rebecca Pokorski and seconded by Tina Owens-Ruff. The motion carried.